Song-A-Day: February 1

Welcome to February everybody, these are the moments when we realize seemingly meaningful statistics like how 2014 is already 1/12th over by some measure. Today’s Song-A-Day is going to tie back to Yo La Tengo because I found such a joy in learning the story about how they chose their band name earlier today (I’m a sucker for stuff like that), and thus our chosen song for today will be by the band and off of their album I Can Hear the Heart Beating As One. The terrific “Sugarcube”

Whatever you want from me
Whatever you want I’ll do
Try to squeeze a drop of blood
From a sugarcube

Try to be more assured
Try to be more right there
Try to be less uptight
Try to be more aware

Whatever you want from me
Is what I want to do for you
Sweeter than a drop of blood
From a sugarcube

And though I like to act the part of being tough
I crumble like a sugarcube for you

Whatever you want from me
Whatever you want I’ll do
And I will try

Whatever you want from me
Whatever you want I’ll do
Try to squeeze a drop of blood
Squeeze a drop of blood
From a sugarcane

Leave a Reply

