Song-A-Day: January 24

Today marks a big anniversary as it’s the anniversary of LCD Soundsystem’s debut self-titled album back in 2005, crazy how time passes by. The Song-A-Day is going to head to a different artist though as we have other opportunities to show our respect towards LCD Soundsystem, but not as many to recognize the Cleveland-Ohio based noise-rock group Cloud Nothings who released the stellar Attack on Memory two years ago today. That album ended up being one of the best releases of that year, but this year’s promised successor is supposedly going to change up the sound a bit with the band shifting closer to a grunge-rock type sound and farther away from an indie-rock sound. Out of anticipation for that move, our Song-A-Day today goes towards one of the more grunge-sounding songs on Attack on Memory with “Wasted Days”.

Oh I know
My life’s not gonna change
And I live
Through all these wasted days
Never thought
That I’d end up this way
And I know
It’s gonna stay the same

I thought I would be more than this
I thought I would be more than this
I thought I would be more than this
I thought I would be more than this

And I know
I’m losing all my time
Doesn’t seem
Like it was ever mine
Didn’t seem
My own I don’t know why
Getting tired
Of living ’till I die

I thought I would be more than this
I thought I would be more than this
I thought I would be more than this
I thought I would be more than this

I thought I would be more than this
I thought I would be more than this
I thought I would be more than this
I thought I would be more than this

I thought I would be more than this
I thought I would be more than this
I thought I would be more than this
I thought I would be more than this

Leave a Reply

