Song-A-Day: January 23

It’s finally time to celebrate an album’s birthday! Today Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer?, viewed by many as the premiere Of Montreal Album, turns seven years old. Kevin Barnes is one of the more fascinating artists you can find and this album seemed to catch him at both his highs and lows perfectly. Our Song-A-Day is the penultimate track on the album: “She’s A Rejector”.

My, my, you busted me like a Robocop
Strike me with your riding crop
I’m forever going celibate tomorrow
But tonight, like success, knows no shame

Oh no, she’s a rejecter
I must protect myself

There’s the girl that left me bitter
Want to pay some other girl
To just walk up to her and hit her
But I can’t, I can’t, I can’t

My, my, this demon heart of the master’s hand
Crush me, why, I don’t understand
And I know you’re not her
Because the girl of my dreams is probably God
Still, I want you

Leave a Reply

