Song-A-Day: January 12

Yesterday’s Full Picture post on The Black Keys ended up speaking pretty highly about the covers which the band has performed, and today’s Song-A-Day is going to give the nod to Junior Kimbrough for his original version of “Meet Me in the City” because of that. Kimbrough’s version is incredibly soulful and really captures the beauty which blues music is capable of, and his work has mainly lived on today through the efforts of his former label Fat Possum records with respectful modernized compilations. Kimbrough died in 1998 of a heart attack at the age of 67.

Meet me over in the city
And I see everything is so fine

We’ll get together now, darling
Oh yeah, we will
We’ll make everything all right
Oh honey, don’t
Oh honey, don’t
Please, please don’t leave me right now, girl
Right now, right now, right now
Oh no, oh no

You got me, baby
You got me, girl
You got me where you want me, baby
Oh well
Now girl, I know you are satisfied

Sometimes I think I will, baby
And then again my my mind’ll change
They tell me don’t do it no more

Sometimes I think I will
And then again my my mind’ll change
They tell me don’t do it no more

Yes, but I’m still begging you baby
Please, please don’t leave me right now, girl, right now
Right now, right now, oh no, oh no

Leave a Reply

