Song-A-Day: January 11

A struggle to find something overly-relevant for today, so instead we’ll take a step back to 35 years ago with this track by MeWithoutYou entitled “January 1979”

January 1979, saw a terrible crash
And I couldn’t help but laugh
My ear pressed against the past
Like a glass on a wall of a house in a photograph
My forehead no longer sweet
With holy kisses worthy of your fiery lips
I was floating in a peaceful sea
Rescued by a sinking ship

If I could become the servant of all
No lower place to fall
(I could be your servant)
If I could become the servant of all
No lower place to fall
(If I could be your servant)
If I could become the servant of all
No lower place to fall
(I could be your servant)
If I could become the servant of all
No lower place to fall
(If I could be your servant)

You watch me like a ten car highway wreck
With detached, vulgar curiosity
Us looking down on the tops of the hats
Of us passersby from your seventh floor balcony
And from such a height you missed
Creatures too small for sight
Carry on covert conversation as the misguided insects
Crown me their grasshopper king with a dance of celebration

After years with their crown on my head
I’ve grown overfed, unconcerned and comfortably numb
Kept busy indulging in the pleasures of the wealthy
Oh, someone make me afraid of what I’ve become!
At the first sign of possible sorrow I’ll turn my heel and run
Oh, I’ll never learn
My life’s a cup of sugar I borrowed before
Time began and forgot to return

It was a matter of time
I always said I could see, but now I’m going blind
It was a matter of miserable time
But I heard somewhere, there was a cure for useless eyes

Leave a Reply

