Panda Bear at Governor’s Island

On September 11th around 8pm I headed over to Governor’s Island to take in some of the most unique music I’ve heard in a while in a powerful environment. Getting off the water taxi, I had a clear view of the Sept. 11th memorial lights shining from Ground Zero. The ambiance surrounding that made for a really memorable concert. Nothing I can say here can give justice to the full experience but here are some of my (incoherent at times) thoughts:

Teengirl Fantasy was one of the openers for Panda Bear. Reigning from my roommate’s hometown in New Jersey, they delivered what any concert-goer would want to hear from an opener. Heavy beats and dub-house cuts got the crowd energized. My only qualm is that they were followed by co-opener Gala Drop from Portugal. The first few tracks from Gala Drop were interesting and kept the crowd wanting more but as their set progressed the music and the crowd’s attention span digressed. Everyone got a little antsy waiting through their set and yelling/booing ensued.

Panda Bear finally took the stage around 11pm. Coming out in a gray sweatshirt it was all about the music from the beginning. He opened with “Drone” which slowly faded into “Daily Routine”. Teasing the audience, Panda Bear would play chunks of “Daily Routine” he knew the crowd would know and then quickly revert back into newer material. All of his new stuff was some of the most original and enjoyable music I’ve heard in at least the past year. The lighting (especially in “Comfy in Nautica”), extreme amounts of fog, and the video piece added to the phycidelic feel. One of my favorite pieces live was “Ponytail” which exemplified Panda Bear’s art of mixing textures with captivating harmony.

Setlist:
Drone
Daily Routine
Tomboy
Guys Eyes
Surfer’s Hymn
Ponytail
Comfy In Nautica
Slow Motion
Last Night At The Jetty
Benfica
Bullseye
You Can Count on me

Encore:
Alsatian Darn
I Think I Can/Chores

Leave a Reply

