New Of Montreal Song!

Of Montreal has been one of my favorite bands since probably 8th grade when I first heard “Pancakes For One” off of Aldhil’s Arboretum.  They’ve come a long way since then, developing their sound with each album.  My favorite has remained The Sunlandic Twins, a compilation of pop-dance songs and contains my all time favorite piece by the band, “Oslo in the Summertime.”

Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer? released in 2007 showed the group’s more progressive side and is definitely a wonderful album.  But I haven’t enjoyed the following ones, Skeletal Lamping and (especially) False Priest nearly as much.  Kevin Barnes made me feel creeped out with all of the sexual references and less than exciting, attention catching tunes.

But my faith in Of Montreal has been restored!  The release of their new album Paralytic Stalks will be on February 7th and after listening to the 4th track on the album, I’m definitely stoked to hear the rest of them.  My first impression is that it’s a mixture of Hissing Fauna and Skeletal Lamping, which is not a bad thing what-so-ever.

Hear for yourself! What do you think?

One thought on “New Of Montreal Song!”

  1. Paralytic Stalks is awesome, listened to it like 3 times yesterday and I already feel like it would’ve been in my top 5 for 2011. This track’s easily my favorite, how can you not love lyrics like “Now I’m considered ugly from every angle, you’re the only beauty I don’t want to strangle.” Highly recommend everyone listens to it, only bad thing for it in terms of radio play is that a lot of the tracks are SH

Leave a Reply

